City of Joliet

150 West Jefferson Street Joliet, IL 60432



Meeting Minutes - Pending Approval

Wednesday, July 21, 2021 5:00 PM

City Hall, Council Chambers

Arts Commission

Commission Members
Quinn Adamowski
Eryn Blaser
Lori Carmine
Valerie Devine
Erick Deshaun Dorris
Roxianna Fuqua
Eric Gorder
Lauren Las
Crystal Malone
Brett Marcum
Megan Millen
Jennifer Moore

Sue Regis

Theresa Rouse John Simpson, Jr.

Peg (Marguerite) Stoiber Deborah Summers

Arts Commission Meeting Minutes - Pending Approval July 21, 2021

As of June 11, 2021, Governor Pritzker moved Illinois to Phase 5. Under Phase 5, all sectors of the economy can resume at regular capacity with new safety guidelines and procedures.

Pursuant to the Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity's Guidelines, it is recommended that any individual appearing in-person who is not fully vaccinated wear a face-covering to cover their nose and mouth.

Citizens who are unable to attend the meeting can email comments in advance of the meeting to publiccomment@joliet.gov.

ROLL CALL

Present Quinn Adamowski, Lori Carmine, Valerie Devine, Erick

Deshaun Dorris, Eric Gorder, Lauren Las, Brett Marcum, Sue Regis, Theresa Rouse, John Simpson Jr, Peg (Marguerite)

Stoiber and Deborah Summers

Absent Eryn Blaser, Roxianna Fuqua, Crystal Malone, Megan Millen

and Jennifer Moore

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Carmine, seconded by Gorder, that the July 21, 2021 meeting minutes be approved. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye: Adamowski, Carmine, Devine, Dorris, Gorder, Las, Marcum,

Regis, Rouse, Simpson Jr, Stoiber and Summers

Absent: Blaser, Fugua, Malone, Millen and Moore

TMP-2064

Attachments: June 16 2021 Meeting Minutes for Approval

CITIZENS TO BE HEARD ON AGENDA ITEMS

None.

PRESENTATIONS

None.

NEW BUSINESS

Committee Reports

Funding Subcommittee-Eryn Blaser, Chairperson

Chairman Dorris referenced the attached report for the Funding subcommittee.

TMP-2079

Attachments: Arts Commission Funding Subcommittee Report to the

Whole Arts Commission 7.21.21

Arts Incubation Subcommittee-Quinn Adamowski, Chairperson

Incubation subcommittee Chairman Adamowski recapped the meeting that took place at 4 p.m. on July 21, 2021 which covered the need for sensitivity concerning the public comments submitted. The subcommittee is also plans to make a presentation comparing original and current conditions of murals for public education. The subcommittee also shared their next steps for plan of action including feedback from the Commission in August and sharing this information with the City Council.

Arts Innovation Subcommittee, Lori Carmine Chairperson

Incubation subcommittee Chairman Lori Carmine shared updates from the latest meeting which took place on July 21, 2021 at 4:15 p.m. On the next commission agenda the subcommittee plans to submit plans for a logo contest. The subcommittee discussed starting social media promotion for the commission and arts in general as well as beginning to featuring local artists on the commission webpage.

Partnerships & Community Engagement, Valerie Devine & Dr. Theresa Rouse, Co-Chairpersons

No report.

For Action: Appointment of Non-Voting Subcommittee Members

The commission did not have any additional conversation surrounding the appointments up for action.

TMP-2080

Attachments: July 2021 Arts Incubation Nominations

Greg Peerbolte, Arts Incubation

A motion was made by Rouse, seconded by Simpson, Jr, that the Arts Commission appoint Greg Peerbolte to the Arts Incubation subcommittee as a non-voting subcommittee member. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Adamowski, Carmine, Devine, Dorris, Gorder, Las,

Marcum, Regis, Rouse, Simpson Jr, Stoiber and Summers

Absent: Blaser, Fugua, Malone, Millen and Moore

Alex Páramo, Arts Incubation

A motion was made by Carmine, seconded by Las, that the Arts Commission appoint Alex Paramo to the Arts Incubation subcommittee as a non-voting subcommittee member. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Adamowski, Carmine, Devine, Dorris, Gorder, Las,

Marcum, Regis, Rouse, Simpson Jr, Stoiber and Summers

Absent: Blaser, Fugua, Malone, Millen and Moore

Dante DiBartolo, Arts Incubation

A motion was made by Stoiber, seconded by Devine, that the Arts Commission appoint Dante DiBartolo to the Arts Incubation subcommittee as a non-voting subcommittee member. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Adamowski, Carmine, Devine, Dorris, Gorder, Las,

Marcum, Regis, Rouse, Simpson Jr, Stoiber and Summers

Absent: Blaser, Fuqua, Malone, Millen and Moore

Donna Franks-Tapley, Arts Incubation

A motion was made by Marcum, seconded by Carmine, Arts Commission appoint Donna Franks-Tapley to the Arts Incubation subcommittee as a non-voting subcommittee member. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Adamowski, Carmine, Devine, Dorris, Gorder, Las,

Marcum, Regis, Rouse, Simpson Jr, Stoiber and Summers

Absent: Blaser, Fuqua, Malone, Millen and Moore

John Lustig, Arts Incubation

A motion was made by Stoiber, seconded by Marcum, that the Arts Commission appoint John Lustig to the Arts Incubation subcommittee as a non-voting subcommittee member. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Adamowski, Carmine, Devine, Dorris, Gorder, Las,

Marcum, Regis, Rouse, Simpson Jr, Stoiber and Summers

Absent: Blaser, Fugua, Malone, Millen and Moore

OLD BUSINESS

None.

NEW OR OLD BUSINESS, NOT FOR FINAL ACTION OR RECOMMENDATION

Lori Carmine shared the Innovation subcommittee's conversation about promoting art at all events moving forward and that the upcoming New Orleans North event will promote additional arts vendors. The group discussed ways to continue this effort at upcoming events. Chairman Dorris also shared information pertaining to the City Center;s reveal of the five commission pieces on Thursday, July 29 at 6:30 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Carmine, seconded by Devine, to adjourn the July 21, 2021 Arts Commission meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

This meeting will be held in an accessible location. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact Christa M. Desiderio, City Clerk, 150 West Jefferson Street, Joliet, Illinois 60432 at (815) 724-3780.